DevStory.

How imposter syndrome stops me from learning

Cover Image for How imposter syndrome stops me from learning
Doyun Hwang
Doyun Hwang

Imposter syndrome is when someone feels anxious because they believe their success comes from external factors, not their own abilities. They often worry that they're fooling others about their achievements. In Korea, where the Humility is highly valued, it's much easier to feel this way. I used to try to distance myself from what I created by using excuses like "I didn't try hard; It was just luck". This experience also led me to perfectionism. Although I love singing, I never performed in front of my friends and family because I felt my skills were not perfect and still immature. If it doesn't seem perfect, I choose not to share it. However, by doing so, I've missed out on many learning opportunities. Learning often comes from making mistakes, a realization that became clearer to me when I started playing the piano. Going forward, I will try to say things like, 'I worked hard on this,' or 'I did my best, and I appreciate your recognition.' Accepting my imperfections and revealing my true self is difficult but necessary.